Open Hours: Mon - Fri 8.00 am - 4.30 pm

Skills Programmes

Skills Programmes

A Skills Programme is an occupation-based learning programme aimed at building skills that have economic value, and which incorporates at least one unit standard. It is registered by a SETA and delivered by an accredited training provider and it leads to a qualification registered on the NQF.

A PSETA accredited provider or an employer registered with PSETA who has developed a skills programme may apply to PSETA for the skills programme to be registered. Click here for the application form to register a skills programme

Artisan Development

PSETA aims to build “a skilled and capable workforce for an efficient, effective, professionalized and developmental public service”. Central to this is embedding skills development in efforts to build priority state capabilities, as identified in Chapter 13 of the National Development Plan. One such priority is the “professional and technical” capabilities of the state.

PSETA Artisan Development Programmes:

1. Apprenticeship programme (Contracted Learners): The candidate enters into an apprenticeship contract for a maximum period of four years. The programme consist of three components (which should be completed before a learner can access trade test) namely:

a. Knowledge component;
b. Institutional practical component; and
c. The workplace training.

Registration of apprenticeship contracts in terms of Chapter 4 of the Skills Development Act of 1998 as amended.


a. The candidate must be at least 16 years of age.
b. The candidate should have the following minimum level of education; N2 including relevant trade theory subjects, Technical Grade 11 including relevant trade theory subjects, NCV level 3 with 7 subjects including relevant trade theory subjects.
c. Compliance with medical requirements applicable to the trade.

2. Artisan Recognition of Prior Learning (Non-Contracted Learners):
Trade test application through ARPL process in terms of section 2(3) of the Trade Test Regulation:

a. Granting access to a trade test in terms of section 11(5) of the Trade Test Regulation: Requirements:

  • N2 certificate including the relevant trade theory subjects and a minimum of 3 years relevant work experience; or
  • Relevant engineering NCV at NQF level 3 and a minimum of 3 years relevant work experience; or
  • Relevant engineering NCV 4 plus completion of all relevant work experience modules and a minimum of 18 months relevant work experience; or
  • Technical Grade 12 with Maths, Engineering Science and related trade theory subject and a minimum of 3 years relevant work experience; or
  • Grade 9 and a minimum of 4 years relevant work experience; or
  • Relevant (directly related to the trade theory subjects) N6 certificate or National Technical diploma (T, S and N stream) and a minimum of 18 months relevant work experience.

b. Registering learners who qualify to access trade test through approved ARPL Toolkits, the trades listed below are ready for implementation through the Toolkits:

  • Boilermaker;
  • Diesel Mechanic;
  • Motor Mechanic;
  • Fitter; and
  • Welder

Learning Programmes Department Contact Details

PSETA does not have provincial offices, however there are officers who assigned to support provinces with regards to Learnerships, skills programmes, Work Integrated Learning, Bursaries and Artisan Development Implementation

Connect With Us

Woodpecker Building
Hillcrest Office Park177 Dyer Road
177 Dyer Road

Operating Hours:

Mon – Fri: 8:00 am – 4:30 pm

Public Service Education and Training Authority

The Public Service Education and Training Authority (PSETA) is one of the 21 Sector Education and Training Authorities (SETAs) established in accordance with the Skills Development Act No. 97 of 1998 (SDA). Between the year 2000 and 2009, the PSETA reported to the Department of Labour but has since been transferred to the new Department of Higher Education and Training.